Cycling Gear

So far, I haven’t found any.
Before I get started I guess I should mention I took a break for a couple of weeks. We had family in town, we both came down with a cold and, quite honestly, I was getting overwhelmed by all the articles on the environment.

Today, I spent some time trying to find some eco-friendly cycling gear. I looked under recycled cycling gear, eco cycling clothing, etc… and to be honest the thought of reusing someone else’s chami without some serious sterilization holds no appeal. But there isn’t much out there.

This site I found had quite a few links to other clothing manufacturers, and some of the expected players were on the list: Horny Toad, Patagonia, and Prana. There were also a few, which I hadn’t heard of before, like: Orchid Footwear and Flat Bags. The Flat bags look really cool and are made from cycling tubes. Look at this provocative picture; I love the caption. There is even contact info on donating.

But getting back to cycling apparel. I found one mention of it in Men’s Health, something about a Pearl Izumi jersey but now I can’t find it. In my search to find that Men’s Health article, I did find this site – IBIXwear.com, which looks promising.

I don’t understand why some of the bigger brand names haven’t developed a line made from hemp or polyester. I had really hoped that Patagonia might have a line of cycling apparel but it doesn’t appear so but maybe soon.

Leave a Reply

