Working out & a New Timex

I have been lifting weights and climbing at the Boulder Rock club for about three or four months now. It is not the biggest gym, nor does it have a multitude of different weight machines on which you can pull muscles and over-extend yourself, but I get a great workout when I go.

Recently, I met with a trainer and he mapped out a new way for me to feel badly in a timed and Img_08941systematic way.  The intervals are 20 seconds long with a 10 second recovery, which I have to repeat 8 times for each exercise. There are about 5 or 6 exercises. To better time my exertion and to ensure I don’t go a second over 20 seconds, I invested in a new Timex Iron Man watch. It’s a nifty green color and seems to do the job for what I need. However, look at the packaging for this thing?!! It’s huge. I realize the large packaging is probably meant to protect the watch in transit but it seems more of a brand effort. And now, I don’t know what to do with it. I don’t think I can recycle it and I don’t want to just toss it. I wonder if I can reuse it for anything. I like the vibrant orange color and I wonder if I could use it to dispense M& Ms or Skittles, even. But then the whole work-out angle to this purchase is quickly stamped and ploughed over.

Leave a Reply

